VMware Cloud Community
VMESXI5User
Contributor
Contributor

How can I turn off a Laptop Screen in ESXi 5?

I installed ESXi on my Dell Studio 1555 laptop so that I can play around with it (I'm a student btw). It works great except the screen is always on. I was planning on leaving my laptop on so that I can run some servers on it, but I don't want to have the screen on all the time. I tried looking for a setting in my BIOS to turn off the screen, but didn't find any. Is there a way to do this?

Thanks in advanced.

0 Kudos
14 Replies
idle-jam
Immortal
Immortal

what i can think of is to turn your monitor to the lowest brightness hence blacking out the whole screen ..

0 Kudos
Dave_Mishchenko
Immortal
Immortal

Welcome to the VMware Communities forums.  I can't speak to your specific model of laptap, but my Lenovo will turn off the screen when I close the lid.

Dave
VMware Communities User Moderator

Free ESXi Essentials training / eBook offer

Now available - VMware ESXi: Planning, Implementation, and Security

Also available - vSphere Quick Start Guide

0 Kudos
VMESXI5User
Contributor
Contributor

Yes mine will also turn off, but it will lock all the heat between the keyboard and the lid. I'm trying to avoid that. Thanks.

0 Kudos
bendany
Contributor
Contributor

I have the same issue. I am running esxi 5.1 with lenovo thinkpad t420. when I close the lip, the backlight is off. but the lcd message remains. after half an year when I enter BIOS. I found the LCD is burned.

IMG_3021.JPG

0 Kudos
sparrowangelste
Virtuoso
Virtuoso

Ouch that is some burn in.

--------------------- Sparrowangelstechnology : Vmware lover http://sparrowangelstechnology.blogspot.com
0 Kudos
bendany
Contributor
Contributor

Finally I find a workaround. it works on my T420 with esxi 5.0u2

your hardware has to support vt-d. both motherboard and cpu.