VMware Cloud Community
nw1977
Contributor
Contributor

Host Patching

Hi experts

First of all, I should say I'm new to ESX so please forgive any mistakes!

I'm looking for some guidance on host patching. I have inherited a bunch of ESXi 4.0 hosts, connected to vCenter. Looking at the build numbers, the hosts haven't been updated for some time - with the builds varying from ESXi 4 Update 2 to just the original 4.0 build.

My question is, what level should I bring these hosts up to? ESXi 4.0 Update 4? Is update manager the best way to do this? Are there any patches along with the update 4 that I need to apply? security patches etc?

These are HP servers, and have the HP offline bundle on there, will I also have to update that, or can update manager carry that out?

Finally, many of the hosts are 'standalone', only having datastores on local disk - apart from having to power off the VMs running on those hosts, are there any risks to the VMs themselves in carrying out the update? I assume nothing is done to the local VMFS?

Thanks in advance guys,

0 Kudos
4 Replies
MKguy
Virtuoso
Virtuoso

My question is, what level should I bring these hosts up to? ESXi 4.0 Update 4? Is update manager the best way to do this? Are there any patches along with the update 4 that I need to apply? security patches etc?

Bringing them to the latest ESXi 4.0 build would be a good start. You should also consider an update to 4.1/5.0/5.1 too.

Yes, Update Manager is generally the best and most convenient way to patch hosts.

Just apply the default VMware baseline for critical and non-ctritical updates. VUM will correlate and handle everything else and as ESXi patches/updates are cumulative, apply only the latest releases for each package once.

First of all, you should update your vCenter/VUM to the desired release level though.

These are HP servers, and have the HP offline bundle on there, will I also have to update that, or can update manager carry that out?