VMware Cloud Community
Moif_Murphy
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Home Lab - What's Next?

Hello,

I've been following some excellent guides on the web with a view to setting up my first single server home Lab. One of the guides I've been following is Sean Duffys Lab Setup guide and I appear to have hit a bit of a wall and need some guidance on where to go next. I'm interested in the templating, DRS and HA aspects of vCenter.

As a precurser, I've installed ESXi on bare metal servers and have created Windows Servers but that's about it. I have very little knowledge of vSphere or vCenter Server and so I'm wanting to find out a little bit more.

I've inherited a Dell Poweredge T100 server with 64bit support and 4GB of RAM (I know, I plan to upgrade later) and I've installed ESXi 5 directly onto the hardware. I've then (using the vSphere client) created 2 VMs, a Server 2008 R2 domain controller and a Server 2008 R2 member server with vCenter 5 trial installed as per the guide.

I've also installed the Web Client on the server (not sure if that is relevant).

I've then connected to the vCenter server from my laptop and have started to have a play around with things. Back to the guide and I'm wanting to install 2 x ESXi guests yet I'm not able to. Apparently the CPU doesn't allow it. I've played around with the CPU/MMU Virtualization options with little success. So my question is, if I'm wanting to explore HA and DRS can I get away with creating guests of other OS's? Such as Windows 7 or XP? Or do I have to create the ESXi guests? And is this what is known as 'nesting'?

Obviously I'll be creating a FreeNAS guest as well.

0 Kudos
16 Replies
Dave_Mishchenko
Immortal
Immortal

See the ESXi 5 section of this document - http://communities.vmware.com/docs/DOC-8970.

You'll need to allocate at least 2 GB to each ESXi VM so a memory upgrade may be required before you can get to far with this.

0 Kudos
Datto
Expert
Expert