VMware Cloud Community
fromet
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

High CPU usage

Hi,

I'm new in this vmware world. We are using vSphere Client 4

We have a host machine (2 chips with 6 CPUs (2.4 mhz) and hyperthreading=>24 rcpu ) with 2 vm running asterisk where CentOS is th OS.

One of the VM is showing high CPU usage, it was configured with 4 vCPUs and 9575 MHz, memory 7396 MB. I tried to increase the amount of vCPUs but I read this warning: "changing the number of CPUs after OS installed may make vm unstable".

So what I did was:

adding more shares in CPU (from 4000 to 6000) and adding reservation: 9572 Mhz.

After that I saw a change in the perfomance graph, (I attached the figure). 

Are that actions solve my problems? Do I have to add more vCPUs anyway?

If I add more vCPUs will I have a problem with my VM?

Regards,

Rafael

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
ThompsG
Virtuoso
Virtuoso
Jump to solution

If I'm reading your attachment correctly this VM has a reservation of 9.57Ghz but is NOT limiting the CPU cycles it can consume therefore you will be able to utilize all the CPU available to it, i.e. 10.52 GHz

One other thing to note: depending on your vSphere licensing you may not be able to add additonal vCPU to this VM. ESX(i) 4 is limited to 4 with Enterprise licensing - 8 with Enterprise Plus.

Kind regards.

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
7 Replies
rickardnobel
Champion
Champion
Jump to solution

fromet wrote:

So what I did was:

adding more shares in CPU (from 4000 to 6000) and adding reservation: 9572 Mhz.

After that I saw a change in the perfomance graph, (I attached the figure). 

Are that actions solve my problems?

The Shares and Reservations will only matter (in this case) if you have a very high total demand of CPU in your host. If you do not have a overcommit in CPU demand then it will not help you.