VMware Cloud Community
CatHat
Contributor
Contributor

Hardware recommendation for a student.

Hi!

I'm a student currently doing my second year on the master of engineering program. I'm trying to find some none-server hardware on which to run ESXI 4 (due to server hardware-costs) but so far iv come up mostly empty handed. I'm currently running 3 physical computers which i want to combine to one using virtualization to both bring down the electricity bill and reduce heat in my garderobe. They will together serve at most 20 simultaneously users.

The following OS will be running:

• Windows 2008

• Opensolaris

• Pfsense (freebds 7.1)

• Ubuntu server 9.10

• + more for educational/testing purposes.

I want to give opensolaris direct disk access to my storage disks so that i can utilize the full potential of zfs directly and wont have to use VMFS in the bottom.

These are my foughts on hardware with cost and electricity in focus:

• CPU: AMD/intel dose not matter only that they support AMD-V or Intel VT-x and are quad cores.

• Memory: going to start out with 8 GB ECC memory. (will add more later, its cheap nowadays)

• Nic: Intel PRO/1000 MT Dual adapter (already have 4x of these and iv tested them with both esxi 3.5 and 4)

• PSU: 80 plus or better, brand is of less importance.

Now the problem is the motherboard and the I/O controller, what i am looking for is a motherboard where the on-board I/O controller works with Esxi and it runs stable. During the Christmas break i have been testing Esxi 4 on a new Gigabyte GA-MA790XT-UD4P with a phenom X4 cpu and an intel pro 1000 nic. The motherboard have the AMD SB750 I/O controller and the 790X chipset. The sata drives where detected, the onboard nic is realtek so it wasn't detected and booting esxi takes ages (~5 min) and when its booted it suddenly stops responding on network traffic when i´m connecting with the vSphere client. I wasn't able to get it stable on that hardware.