VMware Cloud Community
markshrimpton
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Hard Drive RAID configuration for R610

Hi All,

I am new to virtualisation, and having read many, many, documents i think i am starting to get my head around the various concepts in the installation and running of ESXi and VMs.

My plans are to purchase a Dell R610 with the 'ESXi v4.0 2CPU Embedded, Basic 0yr Upgrade Subscription, on SD card' which I think gives me the basic ESXi host which can be remotely managed using VMWares free Vsphere Client?

I am unsure however of the best way to configure the machine's hard drives.

Originally I was planning RAID1 on 2x 15k 146GB and RAID5 (1 HS) on 4x 10k 146GB with the RAID1 for the VM's system drives and the RAID5 for their data etc.

But i think i may be missing something fundemental about how VMs are different to normal physical machines? Is it easy/possible/worthwhile to have a VMs data on a seperate hard drive to it's OS? None of the planned VMs are very taxing on hardware.

Is it better say just to have RAID5 (1 HS) 5x 146GB or RAID10 6x 146GB, would 15k vs. 10k make much of a difference?

Currently all VMs and their data will be stored locally. Should the delve into virtualisation be successul then will look into DAS or more likely a iSCSI SAN in the future.

My apologies that this is largely about the possible hardware rather than all about ESXi. I hope you may be able to give some advice though.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
J1mbo
Virtuoso
Virtuoso
Jump to solution

Broadly agreeing with Sixth, what is needed is a storage subsystem capable of delivering the number of random IOPS consistently as required by the many running VMs.