VMware Cloud Community
trep-
Contributor
Contributor

HP ACU / Management with ESXi 4.

Hi,

I'm using ESXi 4 in a test environment right now. I just started working with ESXi (used to work wirth VMWare Server 2), so i'm a beginner.

ESXi 4 is currently installed ona Proliant DL380 G5. I've always managed HP server with SIM and ACU and i wanted to do the same with ESXi 4. Therefore, i'm looking for (beginner) documentation on how to install agents on ESXi 4 to see the health of the server and manage the RAID controller.

Best regards,

trep

0 Kudos
5 Replies
Borja_Mari
Virtuoso
Virtuoso

Hi,

for hardware monitoring in HP servers (SIM/CIM) you can download & use the custom HP esxi 4.0 image from the vmware site. In the last step before to download the .iso image, you can chose between HP, Dell and IBM custom images.

Only officially supported HP servers should run with this custom image (.iso). If the HP server isn't officially supported, maybe the vanilla esxi 4.0 image must be used to get a successful esxi's installation. But all the custom HP hardware monitoring will be lost.

Anyway, you can chose to download the HP custom esxi 4.0 image from HP. Theoretically both images are the same.

In a custom HP esxi 4.0 install, you should see hardware monitoring (fans, temperatures, raid status, etc) if you check the hardware status using the vSphere client to connect to the esxi 4.0 HP host.

IMHO i think it isn't possible to run ACU in the esxi 4.0. Anyway consult some HP vendor.

Hope it helps Smiley Happy

Regards/Saludos,

Pablo

Please consider awarding any helpful answer. Thanks!! - Por favor considera premiar las respuestas útiles. Muchas gracias!!

Virtually noob blog