VMware Cloud Community
Albany1
Contributor
Contributor

Guest/Host Ethernet Access

Hello All,

Thankyou for taking the time to read this.

Firstly I want to say that I am new to VMWARE as I have inherited this setup. I have ESX 4.0 running a Window 2008 Guest OS.

In the recent past I have been able to connect vSphere client to to the Host using the hosts IP address and connected to the guest OS (sharing, Remote dsktop, domain login etc) using the Guest IP address. Both going to the PC down the same cable as only one NIC configured. However today I was unable to gaing access to the Host using vSphere, ping or the web interface (to download utils). So having no real idea where to begin and taking the easy option I rebooted guest and Host. On rebot I was able to get access to the host using ping, Web and client. But, when the guest started - clients were unable to contact the Server and the server was unable to ping anything other than itself.

What I found is that after a reboot if I do not connect using the vSphere client the guest OS has use of the NIC and vice versa.

If anyone has any ideas where to start, I would appreciate it. FYI there are 5 other etherports (unused) on the PC.

Regards

Tom

0 Kudos
6 Replies
lvaibhavt
Hot Shot
Hot Shot

Hi Tom,

Start with the basics; if you are not able to connect today then did something happened recently

Are you able to connect to the Virtual Center (if the host is connected to it)?

Are you able to connect directly to the Host via VI client? If no -- then what is the error

Are you able to putty to the Host? If yes then check the network settings from command line

Thanks

0 Kudos
gretton
Contributor
Contributor

Thanks lvaibhavt for the reply,

I have been offsite so apologies I haven't got back to you sooner.

"Start with the basics; if you are not able to connect today then did something happened recently"

- Not to my knowledge

"Are you able to connect to the Virtual Center (if the host is connected to it)?