VMware Cloud Community
XSERV
Contributor
Contributor

Getting Best Performance from ESX 5.1

Hello Friends.

I am an SQA Engineer and need to do a lot of testing on the applications in windows and want better performance.

I have gone through a lot of articles but could not find the correct answer for my questions.

I need help from the experts like you to better understand the concepts and the configuration which I need.

To give a short details of what I do and my requirements.

1. Install various OS on daily basis. (May be an average of installing Windows 3 times in a day)
  2. Installing Huge amount of Applications.
  3. Adding or removing various Hotfix from OS and other apps multiple times.
  4. Taking a lot of snapshots and deleting/merging them.
  5. Rebooting the VM's very frequently (May be once every 30 min).
  6. Copping TB's worth of data between VM's (On Same Host)

Details of the test machine which I have for performing my task. ESX 5.1 with U1

• Power Edge 11G R510 rack server with all drivers and firmware's updated.
  • 2 * (Six-core Intel® Xeon® processors 5500) = 12 Cores running at 2700Mhz
  • Memory 128GB DDR3 1333MHz
  • PERC 6/i RAID Controller
  • Hot-plug hard drive: 8 * 1TB 3.5” SAS (7.2K) =7.5 TB in total currently configured in RAID 0
  • RAID 0 Stripe size currently set to 128k. Disk Alignment verified.
  • Intel Ethernet X520 DA2 Dual-Port 10 Gigabit Server Adapter. (Configured with 9K Jumbo Frames)

VM Configuration: ESX 5.1 with U1

• Every VM has latest VMTools installed.
  • All VM's configured with 4 vCPU and 16 GB of Memory per VM.
  • At any given time not more than 5 VM's are running and the work is usually done only on one VM at one time.

Even after having a good configuration in hardware it takes a lot of time to perform the above activities.

• OS installation takes around 30 - 45 Min.
  • Windows Boot time around 2 Min
  • Installing an application like .Net or SQL or Exchange takes around 1 Hour each.