VMware Cloud Community
Nung221
Contributor
Contributor

Fix corrupted secondary GPT table

Hi,

I will start by saying im not a professional with ESXi, and started using it as a hobby. After a while of using it I setup a freenas vm for a network drive. That is the problem I now have, is with the device I had my freenas storage placed on. On Friday, I was preparing to swap out my current disk (was going to download data off and then upload onto new network drive) but encountered a problem after restarting my ESXi host. Removing the drive from the host and attaching to a Linux machine showed the drives SMART status is BAD (crap drive, barely a year old) I've look around for 2 days now trying to find a solution and trying different things including: creating an image of the drive and attempting to extract the vmdk off the drive using Linux etc. I've managed to get some data off using testdisk, however I would love to get it all back, hopefully with the help of some of you fine people.

I've consulted https://communities.vmware.com/thread/595178

and have run partedUtil fixGpt on that drive. The message I was recieving before while using partedUtil getptbl was as follows:

Error: The primary GPT table on '/dev/disks/naa.6782...' is OK, but secondary is corrupt. Fix secondary table? This will move secondary at the end in case it is not at the end already. It will also set LastUsableLBA to use all the space at the end. diskSize (975699968) AlternateLBA (975699967) LastUsableLBA (975699934)

and after running the fixGpt cmd it changed to this:

gpt

60734 255 63 975699968

1 2048 975699934 AA31E02A400F11DB9590000C2911D1B8 vmfs 0

I did notice, and please let me know if this is nothing, that running partedUtil getptbl on the same disk path with the :1 at the end results in the following output

unknown

60734 255 63 975697887

and would assume that unknown should also be gpt. Unlike the other thread, I guess I don't have a backup, nor do I even know how you'd back it up.