VMware Cloud Community
CGPCG
Contributor
Contributor

Feature 'hv.capable' was 0, but must be at least 1 Error VM not initiating.

I have changed configuration several times with no avail. I am fairly new to the ESXI family and could use some help with this issue. Thank you in advance for your prompt response. I am by no means an expert in this field so please, no verbal abuse lol. 

0 Kudos
9 Replies
bluefirestorm
Champion
Champion

What is your ESXi host hardware? Is it a physical machine or hosted in some cloud provider?

If it is a physical machine: for Intel CPU, make sure Intel VT-x (it could be called other names such as Intel Virtualization Technology) is enabled on the BIOS. For AMD CPU, make sure that SVM (or Secured Virtual Machine or something similar) is enabled in the BIOS.

For cloud hosted, you have to confirm/verify with the cloud provider whether nested virtualisation is supported for whatever plan you are on with cloud provider. And ask them to enable nested virtualisation if your plan allows it. Not all cloud providers allow you to run VMs within a VM.

On a note about the RAM, it shows 9.77GB. So you probably assigned 10000MB. Better to assign 10240MB to be true 10 gigabytes.

0 Kudos
CGPCG
Contributor
Contributor

So, I am not onsite at the moment, however the server in question is physical. This happened the moment I made some tweaks to the CPU. Not sure exactly what I did but this is the notification I get when I go set said peripherals. Is there something I need to change at the host level? Do I have to go into the physical esxi install and make some changes? I’m very new to this software and was told I might need to change some values in the physical configuration of the server (on-site). Any help is greatly appreciated. 

0 Kudos
bluefirestorm
Champion
Champion

You are not forthcoming with technical information and makes me think you are hiding something. That you know you more than you are letting on.