VMware Cloud Community
Thysdeb
Contributor
Contributor

Failing to consolidate disks on on esxi 6

HI All,

Ok something went seriously wrong here and i am very new to this, have no clue how to fix. and i do not have other esxi hosts to move this to etc, and VeeAM does not want to back up this anymore due to these issues...

How do i go about trying to fix this..it looks really dangerous to me ...here is how the folder for this vm looks like... please see the screenshot..

0 Kudos
8 Replies
a_p_
Leadership
Leadership

That should indeed be cleaned up.

As a first step, please run

df -h > filelist.txt
ls -lisa >> filelist.txt

in the VM's folder to find about about the free disk space, and for complete file listing (including the used disk space).
Download filelist.txt, and attach this file to your next reply.

>>> VeeAM does not want to back up this anymore ...
Does Veeam B&R show any error messages related to this? Which ones?

What you may also verify, is that - in case Veeam uses "Hot-Add" for VM backups - none of the VM's virtual disk files are still mapped to the Veeam Backup server, or one of its proxies.

André

0 Kudos
Thysdeb
Contributor
Contributor

HI Andre,

Apologies for the delay were out of office last week..

Please find attached the listings

Error from VeeAM is just a generic error ..

2023/05/29 13:13:32 :: Processing lws7a Error: VDDK error: 1 (Unknown error). Value: 0x0000000000000001
Failed to upload disk. Skipped arguments: [vddkConnSpec>];
Agent failed to process method {DataTransfer.SyncDisk}.
Exception from server: VDDK error: 1 (Unknown error). Value: 0x0000000000000001
Unable to retrieve next block transmission command. Number of already processed blocks: [12044].
Failed to download disk 'Device '\\.\PhysicalDrive1''.

NO Hot -Add as far as i can tell..

Kind Regards,

Thys

0 Kudos
a_p_
Leadership
Leadership

I love unknown errors. That's so helpful 😉