VMware Cloud Community
ESABO12
Contributor
Contributor

Extend a boot partition on an Windows 2003 Server VM

I am new to VMware and want to know the correct procedure to extend a boot partition to a windows 2003 server VM, on researching the issues I saw multiple instructions on this topic.   If this is not the right forum please direct me on where I should posted this question.

Thanks in advance

0 Kudos
11 Replies
Troy_Clavell
Immortal
Immortal

there are multiple ways of doing this... My choice is to use extpart.  However you can use a helper VM and if needed VMware Converter

...just remember to commit all snapshots before extending the disk.

0 Kudos
Kieper
Contributor
Contributor

I second Troy's extpart suggestion.  This is the method used in official VMware training.  It's also the quickest/simplest method for extending the Windows boot volume, and can be done while the VM is powered on.

Note that the syntax for extpart requires you to specify how much space you're adding - not the total size of the extended volume.

From the Dell extpart documentation:

To extend the g: volume by 1 GB (1024 MB) use the following command:
extpart g: 1024

0 Kudos
ESABO12
Contributor
Contributor

Thanks for all the information.      We were looking at something offical from the VMware website.     Can diskpart still be used?    Is the dell tool offical supported by VMWare and Microsoft?     What is the latest version of that tool?

0 Kudos
DSTAVERT
Immortal
Immortal

I don't know that expanding the boot partition for 2003 is supported at all. http://support.microsoft.com/kb/325590

It is done every day however and is quite sucessful using  the methods previously posted.

One method is to use VMware Standalone converter to V2V your server expanding the disk in the process.

-- David -- VMware Communities Moderator
0 Kudos
ESABO12
Contributor
Contributor