VMware Cloud Community
david_t81
Contributor
Contributor

Experiencing very slow execution and program installation time

Hi, i am a ESXi newbie here and need some advice for an issue which i have been facing for a week now. Appreciate any advice that can point me in the right direction.

Background

I was assigned to setup a server at work to host an internal source code repository and possibly run some VM as dev server in thefuture.

Server specs:

HP Proliant DL360 Gen9

Xeon  E5-2630 CPU

144GB RAM

6x HP 15K SAS drive + 2 hot backup (RAID 1+0)
HPE-ESXi-6.5.0-iso-650.10.1.5.20 (Nov 2017)

Issue

I started a VM based on the official CoreOS-VMware image and wrote a docker-compose file to pull down the official Gitlab docker image into the VM. My VM is configured with 2 vCPUs, 4GB RAM and 30GB virtual disk on localstorage.

I first noticed sluggish performance when the downloaded Docker image took a while to extract.

Thereafter, running the command "docker-compose --version" takes 15secs to show up the version info in the terminal. (On my ubuntu desktop, it took 1 sec)

The entire installation of Gitlab took about 1.5 hours to complete. (On my ubuntu desktop, it took < 10mins)

I suspected that there is a problem with my storage setup so i ceated a 2GB file and copy it from my desktop into the VM. I have attached the performance chart below for CPU Disk and Datastore. Red box is when the transfer was active.

CPU.png

Disk.png

Datastore.png

I like to get some opinion if my suspicion is correct? Anyone has an opinion as to where i can tweak or investigate?

Thanks in advance.

Tags (3)
0 Kudos
6 Replies
diegodco31
Leadership
Leadership

What version of vsphere is installed on the server?

Diego Oliveira
LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/in/dcodiego
0 Kudos
david_t81
Contributor
Contributor

I installed HPE-ESXi-6.5.0-iso-650.10.1.5.20 (Hewlett Packard Enterprise)

Got it from here: Download VMware vSphere

0 Kudos
diegodco31
Leadership
Leadership