VMware Cloud Community
bytesector
Contributor
Contributor

Existing RAID array integrated into virtual machine

Hi everyone,

I am extremely new to ESXi, but I've been using VMWare Workstation for a year now. One of the things I loved in Workstation is the ability to attach an existing physical hard drive to a VM session.

I would like to implement ESXi in my environment but I have a problem. I have an Adaptec 52445 RAID controller with an populated RAID 6 array (with one large NTFS partition). I would like to know if its possible to attach this existing array to a VM in ESXi without any data loss? And if it is possible, how do I go about it?

At the moment, this is the one hang up I have about implementing ESXi in my environment. If I could get this straightened away, I would have ESXi out of the lab in a jiffy.

Thanks in advance.

Chris.

0 Kudos
9 Replies
Rumple
Virtuoso
Virtuoso

Couple limitations:

Drive must be smaller then a 2TB-512 bytes

You would have to attach it as a RDM (Raw disk mount)

0 Kudos
PaulSvirin
Expert
Expert

For ESXi 3.5 there were some limitations: http://communities.vmware.com/message/1140618

Here is also a comment about ESXi:

---

Paul Svirin

StarWind Software developer ( http://www.starwindsoftware.com )

--- iSCSI SAN software http://www.starwindsoftware.com
DSTAVERT
Immortal
Immortal

It may not be practical for what you want to do. ESX(i) does not support NTFS as a datastore. You might be able to use VMdirectpath to connect the NTFS volume to a Virtual machine.

You could perhaps set up the current machine as an NFS datastore and configure another machine to run ESXi.

-- David -- VMware Communities Moderator
0 Kudos
bytesector
Contributor
Contributor

Thanks for the replies.

@Rumple: Unfortunately I am trying to attach arrays ranging from 4-10TB. Is there another VMWare product (ESX maybe?) that handles an array above that 2TB mark?