VMware Cloud Community
usevm
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Embedded esxi storage partitioning

We recently got a server from Dell that had ESXi 6.7 embedded (SD-card) and it's my first time using such a server.

I've always been installing vsphere ESXi manually.

The server uses local storage only and there's no shared storage.

When I was setting it up, I noticed that the datastore wasn't present so I clicked on "new datastore" and when I got to the "select partitioning options", it showed

1. EFI system

2. Basic Data

From the top drop down, if I select "Use full disk" the EFI system would go away.

One would typically use the "use full disk" option right?

And I also noticed that the scratch partition didn't exist either.

Can I select "use full disk" and create a scratch partition manually afterwards?

Thanks

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Nawals
Expert
Expert
Jump to solution

Looks good however scratch partition is missing due to you created VMFS datastore. You can create the scratch partition.

Please mark helpful or correct if your issue resolved.

NKS Please Mark Helpful/correct if my answer resolve your query.

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
11 Replies
Nawals
Expert
Expert
Jump to solution

Can You please explain but more about server and how many local disk attached on server except SD card where installed esxi on it.

0 Kudos
a_p_
Leadership
Leadership
Jump to solution

I've seen such weird preconfigured hosts, where one of the ESXi partitions was placed on HDD/SSD for whatever reason.

If that is the case, i.e. you cannot clear the partition table from the ESXi GUI in order to create a datastore using the whole disk space, I'd suggest that you reinstall ESXi manually, after resetting/clearing the partition table on the local storage.

André

0 Kudos
usevm
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Except for the SD card, there are 4 x 2 TB drives configured as Raid-10.