VMware Cloud Community
BaijuNSHFX
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

ESXi5.5 upgrade to latest hosted in HP DL380p G8

Hi,

I am new to Vmware upgrade process.

We have few HP Pro DL380p G8 Servers  for our environment with USB bootable flash drive with ESXi5.5.

With a separate VCenter Server with Esxi5.5

I need to upgrade to the latest version, do I need to upgrade / load with latest ESXi 6.5 on USB bootable media ? 

Could you please let me know the procedure with respect this  environment setup.

Thank you.

Regards,

0 Kudos
4 Solutions

Accepted Solutions
e_espinel
Virtuoso
Virtuoso
Jump to solution

Hello.
I am going to assume that you only have VMware vSphere boot on the USB and that the VMs are on internal disks or external storage.
The first thing would be to verify that the server hardware is supported in the new version that you are going to install, this can be verified in the following link

The easiest and fastest way would be to perform a new installation of vcenter server and ESXi Hosts for version 6.5.

If for any legal reason you need to have the statistics of the vcenter Server and ESXi Hosts, you will have to perform a longer and more complicated update process.

Attached is a link about USB installation
https://kb.vmware.com/s/article/2004784

Enrique Espinel
Senior Technical Support on IBM, Lenovo, Veeam Backup and VMware vSphere.
VSP-SV, VTSP-SV, VTSP-HCI, VTSP
Please mark my comment as Correct Answer or assign Kudos if my answer was helpful to you, Thank you.
Пожалуйста, отметьте мой комментарий как Правильный ответ или поставьте Кудо, если мой ответ был вам полезен, Спасибо.

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
a_p_
Leadership
Leadership
Jump to solution