VMware Cloud Community
Samsonite801
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

ESXi very slow boot times - VM guests also respond very slow

I have an ESXi 5.1.0 new install that worked great for the first couple of days. It is not yet in any kind production situation, as I am still just testing various configurations, in order to determine how we could best implement virtualization into our production environment. I am new to VMware, and am just starting out with single mode ESXi for my testing, but am planning to move toward the full clustered setup to get HA once I get to that stage. At this point, I am trying to learn how VMware even works...

All was well as it had 16GB of memory when I started, and I powered it down to add memory up to the 32 GB limit. I think I may have accidently forgotten to enter it into 'Maintenance Mode' before I told it to shutdown (I did not have any VMs powered up at the time), but at any rate, that is when all the problems began.

After upping it to 32GB and powering back on, it took forever to boot (close to 1/2 hour), and when Vsphere client finally became able to login, every one of my VMs powered-on and boot very slow (for example in Windows you will see the splash-screen for 1/2 hour before it even loads the desktop, screen drawing is even very slow like when the startup menu shows saying 'Start Windows Normally' it draws line by line, that slow).

I cannot fathom what caused this. I even tried removing the newly installed memory so I was back down to 16GB, and did not resolve issue. I have NOT implemented my iSCSI yet, so all those other VMware KBs talking about slow boot with iSCSI seem like they don't apply. In my initial testing, I am just trying to get it working on local storage, and once all is well will connect my iSCSI storage SAN and eventually the datastores will be stored and running from there.

I am also seeing this issue in the logs (in high occurrence) of:

4972: no FS driver claimed device 'control' : Not Supported