VMware Cloud Community
zdawg
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

ESXi problem with VM's and internet access

First let me say that I'm new to ESXi, my only previous experience with VMware over the years was running VMware workstation.

I've recently installed ESXi 4.1 in my test lab, had 5.1 prior but since we're going to be doing a migration at work thought I'd simulate it at home first (well the engineers that work for me will be performing the work but I want to educate myself along the way).  I have two barebone physical hosts (with attached storage) and when they were running ESXi 5.1, all VM's had no issues accessing the internet (behind my router and cable modem) at all - all I had to do was assign the hosts IP's and VM's IP's and everything was fine. 

Now that I've intsalled 4.1 none of the VM's can access the internet.  So I currently have one host running 5.1 and 4.1, I've compared any and all settings I could see and there is absolutely no difference.  If fact, I can ping VM's from 5.1 to 4.1 and vice-versa, I can ping the physical hosts back and forth, can ping the gateway from both, etc etc - for whatever reason I just can't access the internet from anything running off the 4.1 host.

The only thing I can think of is that there is something that needs to be manually configured on 4.1 that doesn't have to be specially configured in 5.1, but I have no idea what.  Any suggestions?

0 Kudos
5 Replies
a_p_
Leadership
Leadership

Welcome to the Community,

there's nothing on the ESXi host which prevents a VM from accessing any network resources (including Internet). Did you configure the VM's network settings manually or do you use DHCP? Did you double check the settings for mismatches, typos... in the subnet, gateway and DNS server settings?

How did you setup the ESXi host's network?

André

0 Kudos
zdawg
Enthusiast
Enthusiast