VMware Cloud Community
jhmc93
Contributor
Contributor

ESXi no network device found

Hello every time I try to install esxi 7.0 I get an error saying " no network device found " can someone help? thanks

Labels (1)
  • ee

Tags (1)
0 Kudos
17 Replies
Kahonu84
Hot Shot
Hot Shot

need more to go on than that

0 Kudos
scott28tt
VMware Employee
VMware Employee

Check here for NIC compatibility: https://www.vmware.com/resources/compatibility/search.php?deviceCategory=io

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Although I am a VMware employee I contribute to VMware Communities voluntarily (ie. not in any official capacity)
VMware Training & Certification blog
0 Kudos
jhmc93
Contributor
Contributor

Hi,

I'm new to all this

When I install the esxi I get the following message

Screenshot: 

0 Kudos
vxprthu
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

HI,

There could be many reasons for your issue, but it looks driver issue. (if we assume that have network card in your machine)

First, please check that your hardware is on the compatibility list (link was already shared before)

Second, if the server is on the list, and you are aware of the hardware vendor, please download and use the vendor specific esxi installer image. It can be downloaded from VMware or the vendor site as well.

Third, if the hardware is not supported, you may try the community nic driver from flings site.

Otherwise, please share more details for better understanding you environment.

Blog: vxprt.hu
0 Kudos
jhmc93
Contributor
Contributor

My network driver is a Realtek,

i have installed windows 10 and that’s what my driver is shown as,

like I said before I’m new to this so help would be appreciated.

0 Kudos
scott28tt
VMware Employee
VMware Employee

Realtek isn't listed as a brand in the compatibility tool I linked to before, if you had used the link you would know that.