VMware Cloud Community
alex9999991
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

ESXi host1 cannot ping ONE other computer in same network?

Hi,

I'm very new to ESXI and have a weird problem that I cannot solve and don't have an idea whats going wrong. I freshly installed esxi1 and added one VM named vm1. Did not play too much with settings... just wanted to get vm1 up and running.

So far everything is working and I decided to mount an NFS share to have access to some files and stumbled across the following issue:
- vm1 can ping everything
- all hosts in the network can ping each other
- esxi1 host can ping every computer on the network, EXCEPT one NAS (tried from SSH), so I cannot mount the NFS share.

I have a "Management Network" and a "VM Network", both use the same vSwitch0 and have the same VLAN-ID 0 and both uses the same physical NIC.

But esxi => ping => NAS is not possible. What did I miss?

Thank you and best regards, Alex

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
alex9999991
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Ok, problem solved:

my NAS has two physical NICs. The second NIC is configured to 10.0.0.4 (== esxi IP 🙄) since ages but was never physically connected.
Now, the NAS does NOT respond/accept traffic from another host with IP 10.0.0.4 since it is its own IP from NIC2.

Since the esxi came in some days ago and I configured it to 10.0.0.4 the NAS was not responding to anything from 10.0.0.4

In any case, thank you very much for your help!

View solution in original post

4 Replies
e_espinel
Virtuoso
Virtuoso
Jump to solution

Hello
This link contains information that may be of help to you.

https://www.vmware.com/content/dam/digitalmarketing/vmware/en/pdf/techpaper/vmw-white-paper-vsphr-na...

Enrique Espinel
Senior Technical Support on IBM, Lenovo, Veeam Backup and VMware vSphere.
VSP-SV, VTSP-SV, VTSP-HCI, VTSP
Please mark my comment as Correct Answer or assign Kudos if my answer was helpful to you, Thank you.