VMware Cloud Community
LumH
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

ESXi evaluation - questions...

Hi there...

I'm new to the VM world and am currently evaluating the ESXi product. I'm also new to the networking world, so forgive me if I'm using the wrong terms.

Am intending to use ESXi in a non-standard way - it is not to create fault tolerant server or network services, etc.

This will be a closed network (with no access to the internet).

At this time, I've installed a network with:

• one HP Procurve 2848 switch
  • 4 computers
    2 of these have been configured as VM hosts, and each host have one VM guest (Windows 10 Pro).|
    All computers using static IP addresses with no gateway.

Test 1 - Create the network (10.100.1.0/24) and have the VMs act as "normal" computers...
10.100.1.0/24 was created under VLAN 1 (untagged) on the switch. VMs vswitch configuration was defaulted.

This was successful... All the physicals hosts and VMs can ping each other (using one physical NIC).

Test 2 - Change each VMs so they are now under VLAN 100

Switch: created VLAN 100, and tagged the ports associated with VMs.

VMs: change "VM Management" to port group 100.
This was sucessful... All the physical hosts can ping each other; The VMs can only ping each other.

Test 3 - Have a physical host and the VMs communicate under VLAN 100
I could not get this to work on my first try using the same technique in Test 2...

After searching the web, I believe it's because I was using ESXi in VST mode, and saw the note "Native VLAN ID on ESXi/ESX VST Mode is not supported. Do not assign a VLAN to a port group that is same as the native VLAN ID of the physical switch" - Is that correct?

Would I have to switch to VGT mode in order to make this work?

Test 4 - The next hurdle, is to have 2 VLANs (e.g. 100, 200) each having VMs, but the VMs configured with the same IP address.
1) VLAN 100
     VM-1 (10.100.1.100) and a physical computer (10.100.1.200)

2) VLAN 200