VMware Cloud Community
bdoubleu
Contributor
Contributor

ESXi Server issues the incorrect SSL certificate for clients connecting to the webserver guest OS

Hi All,

I am brand new to virtualization and I created an ESXi 4.0.0 server, in which

I have hosed a few Micro$oft servers. One of them is a webserver and the other 2 are a domain controller and an Exchange server.

So, I went the normal route and logged into the host OS and created an

SSL certificate request, sent that off to godaddy, received my new certs and

installed them on the guest os virtual server, but when people hit the webserver running, they are

getting a certificate issued by the VMWare server rather than the one

hosted by the Guest OS.

Is there an easy way around this? Can I disbale vmware from doing this

if I know this will be the only SSL cert on that box?

Can I share this cert with the box if it was already generated to be

used on a winsdows 2003 server?

I am starting to get desperate as I cannot find anyone who seems to know how to do this anywhere and my merchant services has cut me off because they say that I am no longer secure. I REALLY need some help in getting this up and running correctly.

Anything else that anyone can please share? Or if anyone would like to

solve this problem for me, I will gladly pay them to log in and do it Smiley Happy

Thanks!

Brad

0 Kudos
4 Replies
jkumhar75
Hot Shot
Hot Shot

In this particular issue, you can try removing the certficate from Vmware and adding the SSL certificate created by you.

Jay

MCSE,VCP 310,VCP 410

Consider awarding points for "helpful" and/or "correct" answers.

If you found this or other information useful, please consider awarding points for "Correct" or "Helpful". Jayprakash VCP3,VCP4,MCSE 2003 http://kb.vmware.com/
Borja_Mari
Virtuoso
Virtuoso

Hi,

AFAIK what are you saying should not be happening in a right scenario.