VMware Cloud Community
meinrad_
Contributor
Contributor

ESXi 7 max reservable RAM

Hi

I'm new to VMware and EsXi, so far I only used Linux KVM.
I've got a HPE Microserver GEN10 with only 8GB of RAM. I'm using ESXi 7 as a hypervisor. Most of the time I'm running a small single Linux guest on it. Because I'm using hardware pass through all the memory of the guest has to be reserved. Since it's in most cases the only guest, I'd like to assign 4GB of RAM to it. But for some unknown reason ESXi lets me only reserve 2GB of RAM for it. If I run other guests without memory reservation and hardware pass through, ESXi lets them use up to 7GB of the 8GB of physical memory.

How can I reserve more memory to a guest?
What are the limitations and where can I find the corresponding documentation?
Is there a way around reserving all of the memory for a guest with hardware pass through?

Thanks for your help!

Meinrad

Labels (3)
0 Kudos
10 Replies
jburen
Expert
Expert

The best place to start if you are looking for documentation is https://docs.vmware.com/en/VMware-vSphere/index.html When it comes to reservations there is no absolute limit. The only limit is what you have available in your ESXi host: https://docs.vmware.com/en/VMware-vSphere/7.0/com.vmware.vsphere.resmgmt.doc/GUID-117972E3-F5D3-4641...

jburen_0-1617775371842.png

In this example, I have configured 8 GB memory for this VM. When I want to reserve memory, the maximum for this reservation is 8 GB. If I want to reserve more I must increase the amount of assigned memory first.

Consider giving Kudos if you think my response helped you in any way.
0 Kudos
depping
Leadership
Leadership

it probably will not allow you to reserve more as there are a couple of other things that require memory, like the hypervisor itself, and the overhead reservation for the VMs. 

Why would you set a reservation? ESXi is pretty good at memory management, just let it do it's thing!

0 Kudos
vbondzio
VMware Employee
VMware Employee