VMware Cloud Community
fletch8527
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

ESXi 6.5 Shared Storage between 2 Guests

I have an ESXi 6.5 host with 2 guests (Windows 10 and Ubuntu). This is my first time using ESXi. The host has 2 storage devices (an SSD and a HDD), datastore1 is the SSD and datastore2 is the HDD. The guests are running on datastore1 and datastore2 is currently empty. Is it possible to setup something on datastore2 so that both guests can access it simultaneously?

I know I could create a vmdk and attach it to one of the guests then set up a network share on that guest so that the other guest could access it. But I was hoping to avoid that in case there is a time where the source of the share is offline.

I found a few guides that said to add a new SCSI controller to both (LSI Logic SAS) then create a new hard disk on one guest and set up Multi-Writer sharing. When I followed the steps I was able to get the drive to show up in both guests but they are not synced. If I add a file in one guest its not there in the other. They are using the same vmdk file.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
daphnissov
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution

What you're wanting to do here is a dangerous proposition that should probably be avoided. When you attempt to share the same disk device between two systems, you welcome the real possibility of data corruption as changes made from one may not be seen or acknowledged by the other. This is especially true when you start mixing OS types. Generally, using multi-writer on a shared disk is only supposed to be used for cluster-aware applications or filesystems (of which VMFS is a type). In your case, this isn't something you should be doing but instead either using an external NAS or some third system which can provide a file-level abstraction to both systems.

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
5 Replies
daphnissov
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution