VMware Cloud Community
thoreightysix
Contributor
Contributor

ESXi 6.5 - Device Passthrough

Hello all,

I'm an ESXi beginner trying to get my graphics cards to passthrough my VM. In ESXi under Host>Manage> under the "hardware tab">PCI Devices, it states the device is not capable for passthrough. At first, I suspected that the hardware wasn't passthrough capable. The first card I tried was a Asus RX550 4G. Called Asus, they could not tell me whether or not it would work.  I then tried a XFX- AMD Radeon HD 7970, this shows the same, Not Capable. I cannot add a PCI Device, this is greyed out. I have scoured the Bios settings for the board and ensured all settings for VT-D are enabled.

Hoping to find help on the next steps or direction here, currently at a loss.

My specs are:

ASUS P9X79-E WS

Intel Xeon Processor E5-2695 v2

CORSAIR Vengeance 32GB (4 x 8GB)

Samsung 850 EVO 1 TB SSD

I truly appreciate any help on this, thanks!

Chris

0 Kudos
6 Replies
bluefirestorm
Champion
Champion

Have a look at this thread Help with Windows 10 Guest Crash with Multiple GPU Passthrough

Note that your mileage might vary as the GPU cards that you have are not in the official list of GPU cards that are qualified for passthrough.

VMware Compatibility Guide - vdga

VMware Compatibility Guide - Shared Pass-Through Graphics

0 Kudos
Memnarch
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

The video board is usually greyed out-- the associated audio device (usually underneath it) should be available.  Enable THAT, reboot and both will be available for passthru.  Don't forget the frequent crashes on reboot associated with not editing your passthru.map file, see above thread. Good luck.

0 Kudos
thoreightysix
Contributor
Contributor

Thank you very much for that information!

I suppose this card is not compatible. I took it as all Radeon cards that had single processors would work, I guess not. ASUS couldn't give me a definitive answer about passthrough compatibility, I know that!