Contributor

ESXi 5 single iSCSI vs multiple iSCSI

Hello,

I am new to ESXi, recently I setup new server ESXi 5.1, my hardware conf. is:

MB: Intel DQ77MK (2x 1Gb NIC)

i5-3470T

32 Gb RAM

1Gb NIC (intel 82574L)

1Gb NIC (intel 82574L) - VMKernel Port for iSCSI (different LAN)

local SATA 320 Gb for shared vmfs disk

local SATA 74 Gb WD raptor for VMs swap

today  I just bought 60 gb SSD - planing to use it for: host swapping to a SSD  - dont know how much would speed up VM itself is one runing from local  SSD - compare to iSCSI?

Otherwise for VMs iSCSI disk on Synology NAS DS1511+ (Thin Provisioning & VMware VAAI support)

My  iSCSI was created on Volume (created by NAS), I read somewhere, that is  perfromance difference if you first create iSCSI (before any Volume is  created).

So I am planing (after all backup of NAS) to create first iSCSI LUN, than go with volume.

My question is:

is it better to create (for performance):

a) 1 iSCSI LUN + iSCSI target on it, for each VM - (if you have them 10 = 10 iSCSI LUNs + 10 iSCSI targets)

b) 1 iSCSI LUN + multiple iSCSI targets on it for multiple VMs

Any other suggestion is welcome.

0 Kudos
14 Replies
clarkwayne
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Hi,

I don't believe having multiple iSCSI targets/luns will do anything for you because all of them will be going through the same 1gb link.

If you use your SSD for host swapping I doubt it will ever be used because you have 32gb ram. Host swapping is really only used if you have over commited your ram. If your SSD can it speeds of over 125MB/s then you are better off using it locally to store your VM's on. Because using it through iSCSI will bottle neck you because you are using a 1gb link.

Thanks,

-Clark.

My Blog: http://vflent.com
elgreco81
Expert
Expert

Hi,