VMware Cloud Community
forexverified
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

ESXi 5: Sharing 4 cores with 3 VMs - vCPU settings

Hey folks,

First, I shamefully recognize that I'm relatively new to ESXi and while I could probably find the answer in the plethora of documentation, I've spent hours and come up with nothing.

Looking for a simple answer to a very simple question:

What's the best way to share 4 CPU cores (4 physical cores on the host node) equally with 3 virtual machines?

I know there's lots of variables that can be introduced to the equation (type of software being used, VM operating system, etc) but I just want to give each VM as equal of a share as possible.

Right now I have 2 VMs, each with 2 vCPUs, and I really like my performance but I'm severely under-utilizing our resources.

I want to add a third VM and split up the 4 cores among the 3 VMs.

My gut says to give 4 vCPUs to each VM and let ESXi balance the load.

Am I right?

-Scott

P.S.  It's a Xeon E3 1230 with hyperthreading disabled, so it shows up with 4 logical cores, not 8.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
mcowger
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution

1) Please turn HT back on.  Modern HT on Ivy Bridge helps 99% of application performance...especially with ESXi.

2) If you just give all VMs equal resources (say, 4 vCPUs) and dont change anything else, they will all be treated equally.

--Matt VCDX #52 blog.cowger.us

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
9 Replies
mcowger
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution

1) Please turn HT back on.  Modern HT on Ivy Bridge helps 99% of application performance...especially with ESXi.

2) If you just give all VMs equal resources (say, 4 vCPUs) and dont change anything else, they will all be treated equally.

--Matt VCDX #52 blog.cowger.us
0 Kudos
forexverified
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Thanks mcowger!