VMware Cloud Community
tjplano
Contributor
Contributor

ESXi 5 / Dell T110-II

Hello, all.

I'm interested in purchasing one of the newer Dell T110-II systems to run ESXi 5, but I haven't seen any comments in the forums yet about experiences with this model.  I've checked the compatibility guide to see whether the system is supported with ESXi 5, and I see it is.  I also need RAID support, and I see the H200 RAID card is also supported.  I'm relatively new to ESXi though, and before I dropped cash on this system I wanted to ask whether there might be any gotchas.

I'm considering:

T110-II w/ quad core Xeon E3-1230

8 GB RAM (2x4 GB dual ranked UDIMM)

H200 RAID controller with a pair of RAID-1 groups

I see the H200 supports SATA or SAS disks.  Would ESXi 5 work fine with either?  I ask because I've seen older posts around ESXi 4 not supporting SATA on the H200 at its first release.

And while not exactly an ESXi question, I see the spec sheet for the H200 indicates that it supports a max of "2 virtual disks".  If I were to populate the server with 6 disks and I use 4 of those for the 2 RAID-1 groups, does that mean disks 5-6 are unusable/unrecognized?  I'm just not sure how to interpret that spec sheet.

Any comments/info/gotchas much appreciated.  Thanks in advance.

0 Kudos
4 Replies
golddiggie
Champion
Champion

If this is for something like a home test lab, or other lab environment, I would skip the RAID card and drives in the server. Install ESXi 5 to an USB flash drive (4-8GB is more than enough) and use the money you would have spent on the RAID card and drives to pick up a SAN/NAS... The part that applies to the home lab is the level of SAN you get. You could get by with a chassis from QNAP (the newer models, that are VMware certified), populating them with decent sized drives for pretty short money.