VMware Cloud Community
Karl112
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

ESXi 5.5 U1 does not detect local drives on HP DL380 G7 during install

Hello,

i am new in testing with vmware ESXi 5.5.

I did one instalation on older Server (DL380 G5), that went fine (i only had to add drivers to monitor P400 Controler healt).

Now i am trying to intall ESXi 5.5. U1 onto HP DL380 G7 with HP Smart Array P410i Controller, and attached is a HP StorageWorks NAS too.

I am having an issue that my local drives are not detected during setup. NAS logical drives are detected.

Processor is E5620.

First i tried with the image not specified  for HP, then also the one i found though HP site, both ESX 5.5 U1. Same behaviour.

I still have a bootable Win 2K3 R2 on the server, and the array controler runs fine, there are 3 SAS disks in Raid 1 + spare. One logical drive.

I updated P410i FW to version 6.00-2. I ran PSP 8.7B to update what can be updated. Still no effect. I even tested it on its future cluster 2nd host(without updateing), but it does the same.

I pressume I am doing something wrong maybe, because if it detects older P400 Array controllers on other locations so it should also the new ones.

Cant really change the array controller physically as i am doing it remotely.

Any hints are welcome. If any more information is needed i will be happy to add.

thanks

karl

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Karl112
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

I am not sure why...but the local disk was there, it was only listed as remote.

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
7 Replies
a_p_
Leadership
Leadership
Jump to solution

Maybe the issue is caused by the still installed OS. What you may try is to use a e.g. gParted and clean the partition table so that ESXi will find an unused volume. Btw. I'd suggest you use the latest Service Pack for ProLiant for the firmare update.

André

0 Kudos
Karl112
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Thank you,