VMware Cloud Community
JonathanCraft
Contributor
Contributor

ESXi 5.1 - crashes...need help please

Hi, I am a true newbie.

Every so often my ESXi will crash....dead.

I have obtained a copy of the dump file but I really need some help.

Many thanks

Jonathan

0 Kudos
9 Replies
bragazzi
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Since you have a dump file, we can assume that it is not "hanging" or "freezing" or "powering-off", but encountering an unrecoverable error and dumping the memory.  Can you confirm that all the hardware is on the HCL?  I've seen similar behavior when a faulty memory module is installed.  You may want to troubleshoot by running memory and hard drive tests from a live CD

0 Kudos
gbhorne
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

crashing in what sense?

VCP 5.1, CASP, SSSE, CCDA
0 Kudos
TomHowarth
Leadership
Leadership

Welcome to the Forums,

Can you confirm that you Hardware is on the HCL, and Post your dump file, also take a picture of the PSOD and post that too.

Tom Howarth VCP / VCAP / vExpert
VMware Communities User Moderator
Blog: http://www.planetvm.net
Contributing author on VMware vSphere and Virtual Infrastructure Security: Securing ESX and the Virtual Environment
Contributing author on VCP VMware Certified Professional on VSphere 4 Study Guide: Exam VCP-410
0 Kudos
JonathanCraft
Contributor
Contributor

IMPORTANT: This message is private and confidential. If you have received this message in error, please notify us and remove it from your system.

0 Kudos
JonathanCraft
Contributor
Contributor

IMPORTANT: This message is private and confidential. If you have received this message in error, please notify us and remove it from your system.

0 Kudos
memaad
Virtuoso
Virtuoso

Hi,

If you have support contract with VMware, file support request for this issue along with core dump.

Regards

Mohammed

Mohammed | Mark it as helpful or correct if my suggestion is useful.
0 Kudos
Alexibm
Contributor
Contributor

Jonathan,