VMware Cloud Community
doron1
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

ESXi 5.1: Attach 4TB physical (raw) drives to a VM - possible?

Hi all,

I'm new to ESXi but not to virtualization etc. So 7 hours of frustration after installing ESXi on my machine, it seems like I hit a brick wall. I need to attach 3x 4TB drives directly unto a guest.

I have tried everything Google furnished me with, to no avail. RDM is out (even if I turn off RDM filter as one of the KB articles said "unlocks" RDM onto local disks) - it's just greyed out.

Creating a vmdk with vmkfstools fails with "Failed to create virtual disk: The destination file system does not support large files (12)".

Note these are 4TB drives.

Is there really no way to do this?!

Thanks in advance!

0 Kudos
15 Replies
suhaimim
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Hi there,

So far, I am using 2.8TB LUN in ESXi5.1. Never try 4Tb one shot. Is there any necessity? Thank you for sharing. Smiley Happy

0 Kudos
doron1
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Thanks. I'd like the underlying guest to access the physical drive (it's a NAS, I don't want a layer of virtualizaion between it and the HDDs).

I thought this would be a cakewalk, with the maturity of ESXi and all...

The 4TB drives are connected to the local SATA ports (on board), which, I understand, makes life more difficult.

I seem to gather, from all I read, that it's not possible for large drives, neither via RDM nor via a raw device VMDK. I guess I just need an authoritative answer 🙂

0 Kudos
doron1
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

(bump)

Can anyone say authoritatively it's not possible, or show me how to do it if it is?

Thanks!!

0 Kudos
Josh26
Virtuoso
Virtuoso

If you get it to work - it won't be supported, RDMs are not supported on local storage.

The maturity is ESXi is complimented by the enterprise-nature of its design, where as local SATA disks are contrary to the "enterprise".

I don't want a layer of virtualizaion between it and the HDDs).

Why? What do you feel it hurts?

0 Kudos
doron1
Enthusiast