VMware Cloud Community
AlphaWavex
Contributor
Contributor

ESXi 4 hosting Windows XP, cant read IP adress

Hi,

I apologize if I dont post in the right section, i'm total beginner in vmware world.

I've bought a dedicated server to run multiple virtualizations, and after a night installing windows XP (slow uploading connection..) I can't figure out how to have internet in my windows XP. It keeps saying it's looking for an IP adress, doesnt find it and so use the default one '169.254.197.35'.

I'm managing my virtual server using vSphere. The server's running ESXi 4.1, ssh is enabled.

Can someone help me, I've been looking for 3 hours now on internet but didnt find anything.

There is NO way my windows xp gets ip adress, dns, .. and I dont know what to put if set manualy..

VMWare tools are installed by the way, but it didnt work neither before it was installed.

(May i need to set up a DHCP server in vSphere or on the server ?)

Thanks a lot.

Éric

0 Kudos
7 Replies
a_p_
Leadership
Leadership

Welcome to the Community,

in order to automatically receive an IP address, you need to provide DHCP functionality. If you don't have a DHCP server in your network (e.g. dedicated DHCP server or a router with DHCP functionality) you could also configure a static IP address.

Please provide some information on how your virtual and physical network is configured and how you are connected to the Internet. Is the ESXi host connected to an internal network or do you need to use IP addresses from an ISP?

André

AlphaWavex
Contributor
Contributor

Thanks a lot for your reply,

Hum.. I've read on the ovh forum (my hoster) that they were not allowing VM to use their personnal MAC adress so they cant get ip adress from DHCP, or i may have not understand everything.. well, they say we must use NAT.

This is my server's configuration :

IP :my ip Smiley Happy
IPv6 :2001:xx-..-xx
MAC :my mac Smiley Happy
Switch :sw.42.246/6