VMware Cloud Community
Guppie
Contributor
Contributor

ESXi 4.1 network setup questions

Hi there,

I'm new to virtualisation and ESXi.

We have an Dell PowerEdge R610 with ESXi 4.1 Embedded Update 1 on it.

The machine has 4 NIC's and I have no access to other machines to place in front of this setup nor do I have access to a dedicated Firewall appliance.

Within ESXi we want to run about 4 VM's:

1) Firewall

2) PDC

3) Sharepoint server

4) Exchange server

The PowerEdge server with ESXi running on it will reside in a datacenter and directly connected to the Internet.

My questions are

1) ESXi uses port 443 to allow management through the vSphere Client. But inside the virtual machines there is a server (Exchange in this case) that uses port 443 as well (ActiveSync, OWA, etc). Doesn't this conflict with each other?

2) On the first virtual machine we want to have a firewall that all the other servers use as a 'gateway' so that this is a layer to 'talk through'. Is this possible? And is it possible for the firewall VM to manage access to ESXi as well?

Somehow thinking about this setup generates conflicts in my head 🙂 Especialy the port 443 part, I can't see how this is going to work, managing ESXi through port 443 with vSphere Client and simultaniously allowing the Exchange server to use port 443 as well.

If somebody could enlighten me and show me how to make this happen than that would be really nice and appreciated.

Cheers,
Steven

0 Kudos
11 Replies
weinstein5
Immortal
Immortal

Welcome to the Community -

1) No problems - port 443 is a standard port used by many applications in addition to Exchange and VMware - it is used for HTTPS - and to keep in mind VM traffic is independent of the management traffic