VMware Cloud Community
ReedMikel2
Contributor
Contributor

ESXi 4.1: Can a removable hard drive (SATA) be made available to guests (VMs)?

Hi All,

I have my ESXi 4.1 host running on a Dell PE T610. I have a Tandberg Data RDX Quickstor 300GB removable SATA drive that I would like to use as a backup device with one of my VMs (Win SBS 2008). In vSphere Client I see the drive listed under the tab (not under ). I know I can add it as a 2nd datastore, but I really only want my VMs, rather than the host, to have access to it. If I do add it as a datastore, I do not think I can use it as a removable drive with my VM(s).

I am a VMware newbie, so maybe I am just overlooking something simple?

Attached is a screen shot from my vSphere Client showing the Configuration->Hardware->Storage tab info. I have no idea what the Path Selection options for this device are used for. The online help is quite useless, as it simply reiterate the same vague terminology as on the screen Smiley Sad

TIA,

-Mike

0 Kudos
56 Replies
DSTAVERT
Immortal
Immortal

There isn't any reason you can't mount your removable storage devices to an NFS datastore. Mount and unmount them at will. Since Openfiler, Freenas etc. can support CIFS and NFS at the same time and using the same share it is possible to not only clone VMs but also use the removable device for your important offsite file storage.

Forum Upgrade Notice - the VMware Communities forums will be upgraded the weekend of December 12th. The forum will be in read-only mode from Friday, December 10th 6 PM PST until Sunday, December 12th 2 AM PST.

-- David -- VMware Communities Moderator
0 Kudos
Kunari
Contributor
Contributor

I got the Hot-swap RDX working via a physical RDM, not a virtual. I used post #11 as reference and the “CREATING A PHYSICAL RDM” section at http://www.vm-help.com/esx40i/SATA_RDMs.php

A few steps not explained clearly in that document and I had trouble with as a VM Nub: