VMware Cloud Community
ReedMikel2
Contributor
Contributor

ESXi 4.1: Can a removable hard drive (SATA) be made available to guests (VMs)?

Hi All,

I have my ESXi 4.1 host running on a Dell PE T610. I have a Tandberg Data RDX Quickstor 300GB removable SATA drive that I would like to use as a backup device with one of my VMs (Win SBS 2008). In vSphere Client I see the drive listed under the tab (not under ). I know I can add it as a 2nd datastore, but I really only want my VMs, rather than the host, to have access to it. If I do add it as a datastore, I do not think I can use it as a removable drive with my VM(s).

I am a VMware newbie, so maybe I am just overlooking something simple?

Attached is a screen shot from my vSphere Client showing the Configuration->Hardware->Storage tab info. I have no idea what the Path Selection options for this device are used for. The online help is quite useless, as it simply reiterate the same vague terminology as on the screen Smiley Sad

TIA,

-Mike

0 Kudos
56 Replies
DanThompson
Contributor
Contributor

I will concede that USB drives can be fickle little B's; the drive letter walking can be overcome by a script that runs in Windows which basically hard codes the drive serial to a drive letter. There are some little service applications out there that will accomplish the same thing as well (HighRely backup devices come to mind as they ship with a little app that does this). One nice thing about this solution is you can then take the USB drive and plug it into a Windows box and browse the VMDK files (or crack them open to extract data if necessary) and there is no fear of Windows deciding it doesn't like the volume and punting it when it initializes it. Again.. just an opinion. Sounds like you're close to having your solution ironed out.

0 Kudos
ReedMikel2
Contributor
Contributor