VMware Cloud Community
deathtospam
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

ESXi 4.0 hardware prerequisites

I'm just getting started trying to kick the tires on a basic ESXi 4.0 installation. I was reading the first few pages of the setup guide, but the layout got me a bit confused as to what was required where hard drives and controllers are concerned.

Right now, I have a simple 1U rackmount server with an AMD Opteron 64-bit CPU, 4-GB of RAM and four SATA HDDs, all of which are managed via the onboard (and probably not HCL-compliant) chipset. Only one SATA HDD is currently in use as the Windows 2003 boot disk.

Is a SATA or SAS RAID controller or onboard chipset required in

order to install ESXi 4.0? And if so, what is it required for? Sorry if this is a common noobie question -- I did some searching via both Google and on the forums, but couldn't find any answers.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
asatoran
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution

Is a SATA or SAS RAID controller or onboard chipset required in order to install ESXi 4.0? And if so, what is it required for?

To try to answer your question more basically: no, a RAID controller is not required to install ESX. If this machine is a production machine, then you'll want a hardware RAID controller, preferrably one on the HCL, since you'll want the "R" part of RAID (Redundant Array of Independant Drives) for some reliability. But for a training machine, you can get away with a little downtime, so installing ESX to even a single hard drive is fine.

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
11 Replies
Borja_Mari
Virtuoso
Virtuoso
Jump to solution

Hi,

you can check the official esxi 4.0 requirements here:

http://pubs.vmware.com/vsp40u1_i/wwhelp/wwhimpl/js/html/wwhelp.htm#href=getting_started/r_esxi_req.h...

http://www.vmware.com/resources/compatibility/search.php

Also you can check this so good community driven hcl:

http://vm-help.com/esx40i/esx40_whitebox_HCL.php