VMware Cloud Community
hilltop1
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

ESXi 4.0.0 not allowing access to full capacity of RAID volume (LSILOGIC)

Hello Everyone. I am new to ESXi, having just installed 4.0.0 on a custom built server. The server hardware is as follows:

Asus Z8PE-D12 motherboard

Asus PIKE 1068E SAS/SATA card

5x Seagate 1.5TB 7200RPM SATA drives

2x Xeon E5630 2.53 GH (Quad-Core)

etc...

The Asus PIKE 1068E card uses LSILOGIC chipset to provide SAS/SATA RAID0/1/1E functionality.

I have configured three of the hard drives into a RAID1E Array of size 2.0 TB using the LSILOGIC configuration utility accessible during system boot.

I installed ESXi on a different hard drive which is not part of a RAID array.

After booting ESXi, I launch the vSphere Client and connect to the server. I navigate to the Configuration -> Storage section and click Add Storage... option.

I selected Disk/LUN, then it lists the available devices. I am able to see the LSILOGIC Serial Attached SCSI Disk with a capacity of 2.05 TB. I then selected this disk to create a datastore.

On the next screen, it shows the device LSILOGIC Serial Attached SCSI Disk (and a very long identifier number). Capacity shows as 2.05TB but "Available" only shows 47.47GB. It also says "The hard disk is blank". (SEE SCREENSHOT)

I can't find a way to increase the 'Available' value to 2.05, which is the capacity of the drive. 47.47GB is nowhere near the capacity. The program will only allow me to create a Datastore with 47.47 GB space.

Does anyone have any suggestions for being able to access the full size of this volume in order to add it to ESXi as a datastore?

It doesn't appear to be a driver problem, because the volume is properly recognized and the capacity is displayed correctly. Not sure why it only shows 47.47 GB available.

ALL SUGGESTIONS GREATLY APPRECIATED!!!

Thank you!

I have attached a screenshot of the management screen showing capacity and available space:

0 Kudos
1 Solution