VMware Cloud Community
PeterPanda
Contributor
Contributor

ESXI hosts with different hardware (high-/low-end) in a cluster

Hi,

I'm new to the server area and I want to setup a server running a virtualization platform like ESXI. While the server I have in mind is a Intel Xeon Gold 6333Y with 24 cores and 48 threads I also have some less powerful hardware. I did some research and know it isn't that rare that people run older hardware and use them together with newer hardware in a cluster. So I'm wondering how this performs. I know there is a prcessor compatibility list for ESXI but I'm wondering why there are only CPU series like i5 4500-TE or i7-3600-QE  listed beside XEON CPUs. I have a i5 4440 with 4 cores and 4 threads and VT-x is supported or a i7 4790K with 4 cores and 8 threads. Why aren't there other CPU series of i5 or i7 listed? Does it mean when a CPU is not listed it is not possible to use it as an ESXI host?

https://www.vmware.com/resources/compatibility/search.php

So would it be possible to use one of my i5/i7 processor as an ESXI host? And can someone share his experience with mixing hardware. I can't imagine how this performs. How does ESXI consolidate the Ressources? Would the older hardware slow down the rest? I can't imagine how a 24 core CPU works together with a 4 core CPU in a cluster.

Please give me some insights.

Thanks in advance.

0 Kudos
3 Replies
Alex_Romeo
Leadership
Leadership

Hi,

1. If it does not appear in the compatibility matrix, it means that it is not compatible.
  2. A cluster with an Esxi on less performing hardware, reduces the performance of the entire cluster.
  3. Only processors that are in the "compatibility matrix" can be used.

regards,

Alex_Romeo

Blog: https://www.aleadmin.it/
0 Kudos
scott28tt
VMware Employee
VMware Employee

Your duplicate post has been reported to the moderators for removal.