VMware Cloud Community
TempleKa
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

ESXI 6.0 pass-through multiple PCI devices

First of all I'm a bit new to ESXI so I'm no expert. I'm trying to pass-through 2xPCI network cards to 2 VMs (1 for each). Problem is ESXI doesn't power on one of the VMs and gives me an error about device already in use. Can't I pass-through different PCI devices to different VMs or what am I doing wrong?

The network cards both appear on this PCI bridge. I removed one of the cards since I couldn't even do individual pass-through (when I enabled one, both of them enabled).

Untitled.png

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
bluefirestorm
Champion
Champion
Jump to solution

Okay, let's focus on the key statements. You could also replace the words "VMDirectPath I/O" with "pass-through" and "PCI Functions" with "PCI cards".

VMware discourages VMDirectPath I/O assignment of PCI Functions behind conventional PCI bridges or PCIe-to-PCI/PCI-X bridges.

What you are trying to do, passthrough of PCI card through a PCI bridge is discouraged. The Realtek 8169 PCI cards you have are behind the Intel 82801 PCI bridge.

PCI Functions behind PCIe to PCI/PCI-X bridges or PCI conventional bridges must be collectively assigned for VMDirectPath I/O to the same virtual machine.

You are trying to assign two different Realtek 8169 PCI cards behind the same PCI bridge to two different VMs; which contradicts this statement.

To apply this statement to your situation. The Realtek 8169 PCI cards behind the Intel 82801 PCI bridge must be assigned for passthrough to the same virtual machine.

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
6 Replies
bluefirestorm
Champion
Champion
Jump to solution

From this VMware KB VMware vSphere VMDirectPath I/O: Requirements for Platforms and Devices (2142307) | VMware KB

PCI Functions behind legacy PCI Bridges