VMware Cloud Community
atm11
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

ESX design - Query

Hi,

I am new to designing and implementation. Attached picture has my proposed design.

I have a task to choose a server for an ESX 4 implementation.

Ideally my environment would have 2 hosts for fault tolerance.

The virtual servers hosted in these servers will be:

1. Active Directory ( less than 1000 objects) - 4gb ram - 300GB storage ( Vm will have windows server 2008 , plus Active Directory)

2. Mcafee Antivirus server

Windows Patch managment Server - 4gb ram - 200GB storage ( Vm will have windows server 2008 , plus AV and patch mgmt applications)

3. Commvault Backup server. - 6gb ram - 200GB storage (VM will have windows server 2008 , plus commvault backup server)

The storage is only for the VMs , for backup a seperate storage will be there.

Ideally I will go for a server having 16gb ram with a 1TB storage.

What server should I go for from the HCL? preferable something in HP .

Is Mcafee providing Total Endpoint for esx adn VMs?

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
idle-jam
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution

HP DL380G8 has already comes onboard 2 NIC port. With that i would suggest getting another card with Quad Port (the cost of dual and quad is not much) Hence you will have a total of 2 NIC port. You will need these port for Service Console, VMotion, FT, VM Traffic and etc. You can search around and there are extensive threads on NIC allocation, but 6 is a sweet spot.

Depending on the switch that you're connected to, you might want to configure link aggregation which would give higher bandwidth as well as resiliency.

iDLE-jAM | VCP 2, VCP 3 & VCP 4

If you found this or any other answer useful please consider the use of the Helpful or correct buttons to award points.

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
4 Replies
ChrisDearden
Expert
Expert
Jump to solution