VMware Cloud Community
amediratta
Contributor
Contributor

ESX V/s. VDI

My customer needs 16 virtual desktops. I have suggested VDI but he wants to use ESX Server only. I want to knwo a few things:

1. Does ESX 4 support creating Windows 7 VMs?

2. What does he loose using ESX against VDI? Any documents to point to this.

0 Kudos
3 Replies
1an3
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

I'm no VDi expert, but yes, ESX support Windows 7 VMs.

Maybe he has an existing ESX infrastructure and only needs these 16 virtual desktops temporarily? I have contemplated doing something similar for a training course here. Although a 'one-off' is never a one-off if it works well... Smiley Wink

Please consider awarding points.

NTurnbull
Expert
Expert

Hi, VDI just stands for Virtual Desktop Infrastructure. If your client doesn't want to use VMware View (VMware's VDI offering) which runs off an ESX back end so to speak then it depends on the environment and how your going to provide access. You could just deploy 16 vm's and set the windows security policy to allow a single user to log on and just use RDP.

Thanks,

Neil

Thanks, Neil
golddiggie
Champion
Champion

With View, the licensing costs can be a bit much for such a small deployment, not to mention getting new hardware (thin or zero terminal stations). Going the ESX Server hosted route might not be the best solution either.