VMware Cloud Community
o0larry0o
Contributor
Contributor

Dramatic Low bandwidth ESXi 4.1 U1

Hi everyone,

I'm in the process of installing a new home server.
I'm working in IT, and my goal is to be able to reproduce some case study, and home storage.
In that approach I choose to install Freenas 8 RC4 x64
My problem is that i have a very very VERY slow bandwidth from my Win7 laptop in wireless or wired, same result, about 300Kb/s
yes kilo ....!!!!!!
I'm not new to Vmware technology, but i'm not an ESXi expert, far from that ...

I'm using a french provider box (Freebox) as 100Mb switch.

This is my hardware:
asus P7H55M-PRO
Intel i5 650
8 go RAM
Intel Pro /1000PT PCI-E NIC
(cause the integrated Realtek is not HCL)
3x1TB Samsung F3
1x40G Kingston SSDNow
vt-D is ENABLED

I've been through various test, which lead my to think that the problem comes from my ESXi 4.1u1.
indeed, an installation of freenas as main OS on USB stick give me around 20Mb/s
the Freenas config for this is then the reference one:
3*1TB in ZFS, configured in RAIDZ (RAID-5 like)
a ZFS dataset of the whole space, shared with CIF
CIFS configured, with no permission set (anonymous)

Here is my insallation.
I'm using Esxi 4.1u1, on a 4G CompactFlash, from a USB multiCard Reader.
My SATA drives are in AHCI mode.
I use the 40G SSD as Datastore.
I made from Ssh console, the 3 1TB HDD as RDM (with the vmkfstool command)
So i can add the vmdk files i created into my Frenas VM.
I changed several times the config in Freenas:
ZFS or UFS, RAIDZ or Stripe or mirror, doesn't change anything

As I was having trouble with the network :
    could not get the DHCP offer from the DHCP server
    wasn't able to configure the interface from the CLI menu
    I could assign a static IP from the shell (via ipconfig)
    and then it was working fine
I was guessing that the vmware tools were not present, but they are (v8.7.0.3046 build 313025)