VMware Cloud Community
techmen8080
Contributor
Contributor

Downloading appliances and assigning ip address to new vms

Greetings all,

I am a noob ( new at this? like newbie I guess) and am trying to create some vms from the vi client for the first time. I clicked on the Download Appliance button and sure enough up came the download window. However, there were only a few machines listed on that first page and so I clicked to browse for more and another window came up with access to many appliances. When I tried to download an apppliance from the second window it download to the machine I was browsing with and not to my Vmhost. The only downloads I can get to go directly to my vmhost have to be downloaded from that first window.

1) Am I missing something simple that makes me unable to open a second window or access more appliances that will download to my host rather than the machine I am browsing from?

Given this limitation I decided to try the Zimbra appliance (for a test) as it was showing in that first window that downloads to my vmhost. I downloaded it to my vmhost and turned it on and watched it boot on the console tab. It crashed trying to find an ip on etho. I check the configuration tab and can see the Zimbra appliance is showing a green light and connected to VmNetwork which is connected to the active nic card on the vmhost machine.

2) I have 5 Ips assigned to me from the datacenter. One is going to the vmhost. How do I assign an Ip to the Zimbra appliance so it does not crash?

0 Kudos
3 Replies
Dave_Mishchenko
Immortal
Immortal

What sort of file do you download locally. With the ones you import directly they come in an ovf file format. For the Zimbra you can for example use this URL http://download3.vmware.com/software/appliances/zcs-NETWORK-4.5.3_GA_733.RPL1-ovf.ovf and the File\Deploy OVF Template to import the VM directly to your host.

Dave

VMware Communities User Moderator