VMware Cloud Community
ricardoclaus
Contributor
Contributor

Doubts about network interface in ESXI 6.0

Dear,

I am a beginner with the hypervisor ESXI 6.0 free.

I have a doubt. The server physically has 4 network interfaces.

How do I determine that the VM2 use only the network interface number 2?

I realized that, by default, ESXI has a Virtual Machine Port Group, called VM NETWORK.

This would be a pool of interfaces? It is possible to change this pool?

Thank you!

0 Kudos
4 Replies
yak9
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

There are more then one ways to do it. One of them would be to create another VM portgroup on that vSwitch and then:

1. Go to portgroup properties
  2. Check "Override" checkbox in "Failover order" of "Teaming and failover"
  3. Put NIC#2 in "Active adapters" list
  4. Put all other NICs in "Unused adapters" list
0 Kudos
ricardoclaus
Contributor
Contributor

Dear Yak 9,

First, thank you for your help.

Sorry for the delay in responding, I returned yesterday journey.

I realized some changes as your tip.

I created a new portgroup, where only 3 interface is active. The other interfaces I removed.

In portgroup standard "VM Network", I pulled out the interface 3.

It worked perfectly. In the settings of the VM, I changed the interface, pointing to the new portgroup, and tested through the ping command, after disconnecting the network cable from the interface 3.

Could you explain in a nutshell, what is the difference between vSwitch and Portgroup?

The vSwitch would be the set of all physical server interfaces, while the Portgroup would be a group / virtual interface pool?

Thank you!

0 Kudos
yak9
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Hello,

Definitions of VMware networking concepts, including vSwitch and Standard Port Groups, are on pages 11-12 of following document: http://pubs.vmware.com/vsphere-60/topic/com.vmware.ICbase/PDF/vsphere-esxi-vcenter-server-601-networ...

I strongly suggest you to read this document )

0 Kudos
RanjnaAggarwal
VMware Employee