VMware Cloud Community
vmproteau
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

Dell M620 and M820 ESXi 5.1 installation

I'm relatively new to VMware on Dell hardware. The closest thing I find to a customized image is the "VMware ESXi 5.1 Update 1 Recovery Image"  (http://www.dell.com/support/drivers/us/en/19/driverdetails?driverid=RD5JN). I assumed it to be ESXi 5.1 Update 1 with the preferred Dell specifc driver packages. I planned to use this for new installs feeling it would include the latest drivers for my Dell M620 and M820s and would be preferrable to the base VMware image.

1. Is this the preferred media for installing to these blades?
  2. The description says "This ISO image should be used only to recover/reinstall VMware ESXi image to SD Card/USB Key on Dell Supported Platforms."
    • I'm confused by the specification of "only" recover/reinstall and not install.
    • Also confused by the mention of only SD Card and USB Key to the apparent exclusion of standard hard drives.

I've installed with it as a test and it seems fine but I'm uncomfortable with the description.I'd appreciate any additional information or insight from those supporting ESXi in Dell shops.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
GreenGoblin
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Hi vmproteau,

Here are my answers to your question based on my experience. I do not have experience with the M620 or M820 but I manage about 240 M610's, 60 R710's, 10 R720's so I am familiar with Dells servers running ESXi 5.1 update 1.

1) Yes I would recommend using the Dell provided ISO if you are not familiar with creating your own package with the needed drivers and software packages.