VMware Cloud Community
burjoes
Contributor
Contributor

Dedicated vSwap LUN on Clariion storage?

We have 8 ESXi 4.0 servers today, and are adding 8 4.1 servers right now - and will be upgrading the existing ones to 4.1. Our existing servers have a 200GB vSwap LUN each. I'm a new storage administrator with the company, and my background is working for Dell where I did mostly Windows design work. In the limited designs I did for VMware, I don't remember us recommending a dedicated LUN for vSwap. My memory is that dedicated vSwap LUNs are for Netapp boxes, who recommend that to avoid a penalty when doing replication. I've never heard that recommendation from EMC - but I haven't heard them NOT recommend it either.

So - when implementing ESXi 4.1 on Clariion, is it a best practice to use dedicated LUNs for each host's vSwap - or should we just put the vSwap on existing storage?

Thanks!

Jason Burroughs

0 Kudos
9 Replies
DCjay
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

We use Clariion, though our infrstructure is very large. Host swap reside in the host.

0 Kudos
burjoes
Contributor
Contributor

I should have mentioned - we are using UCS blades with no internal storage at all - we are booting to SAN. Not my choice, it was set up that way when I got here.

If I could start all over, I would start out with 2 x hard drives on each blade and do a small drive for OS. Are you suggesting in that config, you'd put the vSwap LUN on the internal drives? Maybe that's why I've never heard of people using dedicated LUNs - because we also didn't recommend boot to SAN...hmm

0 Kudos
depping
Leadership
Leadership

it is not a best practice for Clariion to do this. However it could be useful for your environment when you have multiple tiers of storage or are doing for instance replication as you already noted. I prefer to keep it simple and just use the datastore the VM is stored on, especially for troubleshooting it will make your life a lot easier.

Duncan (VCDX)