VMware Cloud Community
ylafont22
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

Datastore no longer available

Good afternoon. Apologies if this I am posting in an incorrect forum (was not really sure of the best place, please move is it incorrect).   I am in middle of a pickle which I need to troubleshoot as I am not an ESXI expert.   Today someone noticed  an issue where a datastore is report 0 size, this has been up for months.   The host now  reports machine are invalid.    

I figured I reboot, but do not think it would solve the issue,   can anyone provide any steps to take and resolve this issue? Find what the problem is?   

The volumen is list with the command esxcli storage filesystem list

1.png

and this is how there appear on the host

2.png

Just  update - i did rescan of the datastore, and new "grey out" storage has appeared with a warning on kernel.log

21-05-27T00:23:35.908Z cpu21:2097708)WARNING: NMP: vmk_NmpSatpIssueTUR:1074: Device naa.6141877033256b002644af641f601b56 path vmhba2:C2:T0:L0 has been unmapped from the array

3.png

is my datastore gone?????   can i create a new on with UID and find my files?

thank you in advance - assistance is vey much appreciated. 

Labels (1)
0 Kudos
27 Replies
ylafont22
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

How can two drive fail at the same time without warning!  I have never seen that in all my time.   Crossing  me fingers  on recovery.   I am attaching log for review and will order drives as soon as you say the word.

Tags (1)
0 Kudos
e_espinel
Virtuoso
Virtuoso
Jump to solution

Hello.
The failure of two disks in a RAID 5 is more common than you think.
Attached is the event log analysis and recovery procedure.

I have done my good deed for the day, best of luck.

Enrique Espinel
Senior Technical Support on IBM, Lenovo, Veeam Backup and VMware vSphere.
VSP-SV, VTSP-SV, VTSP-HCI, VTSP
Please mark my comment as Correct Answer or assign Kudos if my answer was helpful to you, Thank you.