VMware Cloud Community
corsafr
Contributor
Contributor

Datastore NFS or iSCSI

Hello,

I am installing my new VMware 6.7 infrastructure on my storage but I have the choice between NFS or iSCSI.

I know this question has already asked but when I see older discussion on it, it is on different storage.

But me I can choice NFS or iSCSI on the same storage.

Thanks

Tags (1)
9 Replies
continuum
Immortal
Immortal

I work as a freelancer and offer VMware recovery support.
All my customers use FibreChannel or iSCSI.
In other words - in my experience NFS is radically more reliable.
That applies especially to small vSphere-setups.

corsafr
Contributor
Contributor

Thanks for your reply.

But are you sure when you say "NFS is radically more reliable" if all your customers use Fibre Channel or iSCSI?

So if I understand for small infrastructure is better to use NFS and for big infrastructure it is better to use iSCSI ?

Is it correct?

Thanks

0 Kudos
continuum
Immortal
Immortal

It is not about NFS vs iSCSI - it is about VMFS vs NFS.
VMFS is quite fragile if you use Thin provisioned VMDKs. A single powerfailure can render a VMFS-volume unrecoverable.
That almost never ever happens with NFS.
To use VMFS safely you need to think big - as big as VMware suggests.
So instead of a single ESXi host with local disks you use 2 or 3 or even more hosts and implement regular automatic backups via Veeam @CO and implement regular replication to another locatition.
If you do not have the budget to implement a vSphere environment with that features you are better off if you either consequently avoid all Thin-provisioning or use a NFS-storage instead.
Small environments often do not have the money to implement all features that work around the short-comings of the VMFS-filesystem.