VMware Cloud Community
ncaa
Contributor
Contributor

Convert VMware player virtual file to ESXi format

Hello all,

Again, I'm new to the virtual world so bare with me.  I recently downloaded and installed ESXi 5.1.0 which is up and running fine.  Using vSphere Client 5.1.0 I tried to create a New Virtual Machine and select a virtual file that was created using VMware vCenter Converter Standalone and running in VMware Player.  The new virtual machine seems to get created fine in vSphere Client but when I try to start the virtual machine I get the following error:

"Failed to start the virtual machine. Module DevicePowerOn power on failed. Unable to create virtual SCSI device"

After researching this error it appears that the file formats between VMware Player and ESXi are different and they recommend using VMware vCenter Converter Standalone to convert the virtual file running in VMware Player to the ESXi format.  This is where I'm having some troubles. These are the steps I'm performing:

1.  Open up VMware vCenter Converter Standalone and click "Convert machine"

2.  In the Select source type I selected "VMware Workstation or other VMware virtual machine". It wants me to browse to the Virtual machine file.

3.  It wants me to select a .vmx file but the only .vmx file that is available is VMware virtual machine configuration file.  This is only a small file.  The big file is a  .vmdk file and I would suspect that THIS is the file I would want to browse to in the converter tool but I'm not sure? 

4. If I browse the big file (.vmdk) and select ok I get the error "The file you selected is not a supported source". This makes sense since the default file type it wants me to find is a .vmx file.

5. If I browse to the small file (.vmx) it seems to like that, but when I click next I get the error "Unable to obtain hardware information for the selected machine"